Project #10: Learn To Podcast

Project10-Image

Project URL: http://www.learntopodcast.co

Idea: A free email course in 5 lessons to learn how to start a podcast.

Problem I think it solved: Since podcasts are a hot topic right now and companies are formed for this pupose, I thought there were loads of people looking to start their own podcast, but didn’t know how.

Status: 12 days left on the free trial from pop.co

Emails: 0

Revenue: 0

Total Traffic (stats after about 2 days):

Project2-Total TrafficTraffic Sources:

Coming soon
Locations:

Coming soon
Devices used:

Coming soon

Tactics for marketing:

  • Posted on facebook and twitter.
  • Mentioned 3 influencers on twitter. 1 responded, another favorited the tweet.

Lessons learned:

1. Go big or go home.
Since the beginning of this project I had it in my head that I need to acknowledge people who are already doing better than I am. I couldn’t ignore the three I connected with. There’s basically no risk involved and a huge opportunity if anything actually comes out of it.
2. Always be connecting.
Even when I was trying to promote the project, I still found it incredibly useful and rewarding to connect with people on social media or offline. People who were interested in what I was doing and who could promote my projects further. You do have to start with the value – always provide value and never ask for anything in return. You will get things in return, most of the time. Just don’t make it a main objective.

3. Look outside your niche for inspiration.
I can’t say I’m a huge podcaster, I started something last year and I’m trying to revive it soon. You never know what you could be good at until you try. Not only that, but by trying something new, you gain experience, connections and you could have some fun learning.

4. Decide whether your product needs a website or a platform.
I kept thinking about this after I launched the project. Could this have worked better on sites like Udemy? I’m sure I would’ve got a few hundred students if the course was free. A marketplace usually means some sort of promotion from others. A website is your own responsibility and a bit harder to market.

5. Use all your properties together.
This was one of my first projects where I remembered I could bring traffic to this behind-the-scenes blog. So I went back and added the final line about following my journey to most of my tiny projects.
Technical details:

As some of you might have additional questions, I decided to add this section for those of you courageous enough to try something similar.

The website is hosted using the Startup Bundle package from pop.co. You don’t to pay anything upfront and you get a .co domain, a starter page and an email account @yourdomain.co. All that for 2 weeks. After that the whole package is just $2.50/month.

The logo was generated by one of these tools in this list from Product Hunt. This time it was Squarespace.com/Logo, cleaned up a bit in Photoshop afterwards.

Thanks for reading this far. Now you can:

A. Read about my other projects – still 20 to go!

B. Email me about questions and/or projects you’d like help on.

C. All of the above.

Published by

Sorin Amzu

Premium Udemy Instructor. Facebook Ads Aficionado. Google AdWords Professional. Growth hacking enthusiast. Joke Writing Hobbyist. I like to take things apart and put them back together, all whilst having fun doing it.

Leave a comment