Project #8: My Podcast Cover

Project8-Image

Project URL: http://www.mypodcastcover.co

Idea: A website where you can get a free cover for you podcast, within 24 hours.

Problem I think it solved: People were creating podcasts left and right, but weren’t really thinking about the importance and the details surrounding the covers.

Status: 10 days left on the free trial from pop.co

Emails: 0

Revenue: 0

Total Traffic (stats after about 2 days):

Project8-Total Traffic

Traffic Sources:

Coming soon

Locations:

Coming soon

Devices used:

Coming soon

Tactics for marketing:

  • Posted on facebook and twitter.
  • Interacted with about 10 sites and influencers on twitter, asking them whether they’d like a free cover. I did manage to get the attention of people providing paid services in that niche.

Lessons learned:

1. Sometimes cheap is not good.
I didn’t have experience creating Podcast covers – hell, this is what my current cover looks like now. So just because it’s free doesn’t mean people will automatically use it. Think they’d rather go on Fiverr or similar sites.

2. The service might not be needed.
Even though podcasts have become very popular lately, monetization is still an issue. There isn’t (as far as I know) a marketplace similar to Amazon for Podcasts. This means that people aren’t really concerned with improving something they most likely consider just a hobby.

3. Cold pitching can become annoying to people.
I joined a few Facebook Groups related to Podcasts, but soon found out that people were more interested in discussing podcasts than actually improving them. They became annoyed with my spammy promos.

4. Don’t just take a good execution and make tiny changes.
I’ll be honest – I was pretty much out of ideas and I needed to launch something fast. So I was looking back at what worked and how I could create something new. Pretty much the first idea was to create something related to Podcasts, since I already knew about people making $300+ per podcast cover. The execution on my part lacked any finesse.

5. Find your final users, not the users’ users.
I made the error of joining Facebook Groups for actual podcasts. People there were talking about that specific content and they were podcast users/listeners, not podcast creators. It was a bit of a longshot which, well, didn’t pay off.
Technical details:

As some of you might have additional questions, I decided to add this section for those of you courageous enough to try something similar.

The website is hosted using the Startup Bundle package from pop.co. You don’t to pay anything upfront and you get a .co domain, a starter page and an email account @yourdomain.co. All that for 2 weeks. After that the whole package is just $2.50/month.

The logo was generated by one of these tools in this list from Product Hunt. This time it was Squarespace.com/Logo, cleaned up a bit in Photoshop afterwards.

Thanks for reading this far. Now you can:

A. Read about my other projects – still 22 to go!

B. Email me about questions and/or projects you’d like help on.

C. All of the above.

Published by

Sorin Amzu

Premium Udemy Instructor. Facebook Ads Aficionado. Google AdWords Professional. Growth hacking enthusiast. Joke Writing Hobbyist. I like to take things apart and put them back together, all whilst having fun doing it.

Leave a comment