Project #3: Clean 100 Emails

Project3-ImageProject URL: http://www.clean100emails.co/

Idea: A website where you give me a list of 100 emails and I clean them for you, in terms of validation, for sending newsletters. 100 emails, in 24 hours.

Problem I think it solves: Everyone’s building an email list these days, but email list cleaning services tend to get expensive – I wanted to provide a limited free solution.

Status: 9 days left on the free trial from pop.co

Emails: 1 SPAM or error email.

Revenue: 0

Total Traffic (stats after about 2 days):

Project3-Total TrafficTraffic Sources:

Project3-Traffic Sources

Locations:

Project3-LocationsDevices used:

Project3-Devices

Tactics for marketing:

  • Submitted to Inbound.org and GrowthHackers.com. The latter didn’t really seem to show up in Google Analytics, maybe it’s not in top submitted articles.
  • Submitted to Hacker News. No comments received.
  • Submitted it to StumbleUpon. Heard great stuff about it, haven’t used it much in the past.
  • Submitted to Mashable. Just to see what happens. I don’t think anything happened, but it was fun trying. I’ll try more sites next time.
  • Posted twice on twitter and got a mention from Inbound.org, but for the 30 Tiny Projects blog. Thinking of adding that to my “Featured on” collection.
  • Submitted to Digg. I like the new website design and direction, but don’t know how articles end up on the front page – editors curate it?

Lessons learned:

1. Shady goes a long way.
Most of the comments I was getting about the website were related to the overall look. People felt I was stealing and/or selling the emails I was getting. Adding the final line “Automated and 100% Confidential!” was something I thought of later on that day. It was only somewhat true.
Automated – it could’ve been, if I had used other free services on the backend to do the actual validation.
100% Confidential – it would’ve been if I didn’t have to actually look at them, which I assumed I had to.

2. A funny logo doesn’t really go hand in hand with confidential data.
I designed the logo after I had the slogan revelation: “Get rid of crap emails”. Seemed like a bold idea but, combined with the concept of safety/confidentiality online, it failed to connect with visitors.

3. Start with a real pain point.
Real marketers and bloggers usually send at least 1 newsletter to their subscribers. That means that immediately after that you can check unsubscribes, bounces and errors in your list. So the service was more geared towards people borrowing/buying lists.

4. Traffic doesn’t mean conversions.
This project had lots of visitors from multiple sources. It was all in vain, if the product seemed scammy. Marketing can’t save a bad product.

5. No relationships with influencers = 0 results.
I was tweeting to lots of brands and influencers in the email marketing space, but none knew who I was. So I got no response back. Will try to interact with them more, before I ask them to retweet my stuff – AKA building a relationship/making a connection.

Technical details:

As some of you might have additional questions, I decided to add this section for those of you courageous enough to try something similar.

The website is hosted using the Startup Bundle package from pop.co. You don’t to pay anything upfront and you get a .co domain, a starter page and an email account @yourdomain.co. All that for 2 weeks. After that the whole package is just $2.50/month.

The logo was generated by one of these tools in this list from Product Hunt. This time it was Squarespace.com/Logo, cleaned up a bit in Photoshop afterwards.

Thanks for reading this far. Now you can:

A. Read about my other projects – still 27 to go!

B. Email me about questions and/or projects you’d like help on.

C. All of the above.

Published by

Sorin Amzu

Premium Udemy Instructor. Facebook Ads Aficionado. Google AdWords Professional. Growth hacking enthusiast. Joke Writing Hobbyist. I like to take things apart and put them back together, all whilst having fun doing it.

Leave a Reply

