Project #2: TL;DR-Email

Project2-Image
Project URL: http://www.tldremail.co/

Idea: A website where you input a long article link or the link to an email and I send you a summary of that via email, within 24 hours, for free.

Problem I think it solves: Interesting articles are too long (maybe more for SEO and less for busy humans?), so I try and summarize articles for people.

Status: 8 days left on the free trial from pop.co

Emails: 20 real ones plus a SPAM one.

Revenue: 0 (but could change soon)

Total Traffic (stats after about 2 days):

Project2-Total TrafficTraffic Sources:

Project2-Traffic SourcesLocations:

Project2-LocationsDevices used:

Project2-Devices

Tactics for marketing:

  • Submitted to Google URL. Don’t know if it helps, but I was looking for different ways to create awareness and get traffic.
  • Submitted to Inbound.org and GrowthHackers.com. Inbound.org was great – front page on Trending (position #4), 3 comments, 15 upvotes and a collaboration offer via email.
  • Submitted to Hacker News. Got 2 comments, either neutral or positive.
  • Submitted it to StumbleUpon. Heard great stuff about it, haven’t used it much in the past.
  • Submitted to Mashable. Just to see what happens. I don’t think anything happened, but it was fun trying. I’ll try more sites next time.
  • Interacted with about 10 sites and influencers on twitter, mentioning how the project could make articles/data more accessible. Don’t know how it contributed overall, but got about 20 new followers that day.

Lessons learned:

1. Google your damn name!
Around the same period, an app was on the front page of Product Hunt. The name? I’ll let the picture speak for itself, while I cry in a corner.
Project2-MediaMy first name for the project? TL;DR. But the .co domain was taken. So I thought: “What else could I add to it?” Also, their projects has cats. And we all know cats and kittens rule the internet. Nice work, guys!
Right now, my project is #1 on the third page of Google, while their Product Hunt link under me, but that will probably change soon.

2. Look for the “open door”.
In my Medium post I talked about a technique called “The Stalking Vampire”. The second element of that was looking for an invitation to share. Inbound.org has a feedback structure, so I just submitted my link like that. Think it’s less spammy, as I’m genuinely interested in people’s comments about it.
Project2-Homepage of Inbound.org

3. You have to REALLY be dedicated/obsessed about making it work.
As you’ve seen in the “Tactics for marketing” section above, this time I really put my brain to work. I was no longer happy with just passively submitting my link to directories/communities. I sent tweets to influencers like Rand Fishkin, Neil Patel, Search Engine Journal and a few others. Below is an example (excuse the typo, I was in the moment).
Project2-Learn to write

4. Really think about design.
This time I really thought about images, colors, contrast and logo. That last one has a description of the project and everything flows nicely from top to bottom.
Also, “shipped” beats “in progress”. And your Minimum Viable Product is much lower thank you think. Focus on a great product that just works.

5. Get on aggregators and target influencers on twitter.
As with The Glitter Stunt, looking through Google Analytics I noticed links coming from sources I did not interact with. Flipboard, LinkedIn, Popurls. I’ll try to use this concept more for my next projects.

Technical details:

As some of you might have additional questions, I decided to add this section for those of you courageous enough to try something similar.

The website is hosted using the Startup Bundle package from pop.co. You don’t to pay anything upfront and you get a .co domain, a starter page and an email account @yourdomain.co. All that for 2 weeks. After that the whole package is just $2.50/month.

The logo was generated by one of these tools in this list from Product Hunt. This time it was Squarespace.com/Logo, cleaned up a bit in Photoshop afterwards.

Thanks for reading this far. Now you can:

A. Read about my other projects – still 28 to go!

B. Email me about questions and/or projects you’d like help on.

C. All of the above.

P.S.: Thanks to Alin Vlad for talking about me on Facebook and commenting on my Inbound.org post. Through him I found out about a similar service for books – Blinkist. Wish I had found this sooner, it would’ve helped me a lot!

Published by

Sorin Amzu

Premium Udemy Instructor. Facebook Ads Aficionado. Google AdWords Professional. Growth hacking enthusiast. Joke Writing Hobbyist. I like to take things apart and put them back together, all whilst having fun doing it.

Leave a Reply

